• Sun Ra - Of Abstract Dreams - LP

Rare radio session from  around 1974/1975.

This newly discovered session features a new version of Ra’s earlier ‘Island In The Sun’, a romping, raucous rendition of ‘Unmask The Batman’ and the first studio recording of ‘I’ll Wait For You’ There is no bass player on the sessions and Ra’s left hand beats out a rhythmic bass pattern on the piano. All tracks are remastered directly from the original tapes. The album package features a newly commissioned painting by legendary Bristol urban artist Guy Denning and new sleeve notes by Paul Griffiths.

Recently discovered in the Sun Ra archive, the recording forms part of a series of sessions that Ra and the Arkestra recorded for WXPN-FM between 1974 and 1980. The ‘Antique Blacks’ album was recorded there in ’74. Based on the campus of The University of Pennsylvania, WXPN’s station manager Jules Epstein and music director Russ Woessner were instrumental in the exposure and recording of The Arkestra in their broadcast production studios. Geno Barnhart, founder of The Empty Foxhole concert collective, Jules and Russ broadcast an on-going series of jazz concerts covering a wide spectrum. The Arkestra performed at The Foxhole in Philly many times from 1974.


SUN RA: Piano

JOHN GILMORE: Tenor Saxophone

MARSHALL ALLEN: Flute, Alto Saxophone

DANNY RAY THOMPSON: Baritone Saxophone, Percussion

ATAKATUNE: Oboe, Congas


ELO OMOE: Bass Clarinet, Hand Claps

AKH TAL EBAH: Trumpet, Vocal

JAMES JACSON: Congas, Vocal

Sun Ra - Of Abstract Dreams - LP

  • Labels Strut Records
  • Product Code: SRTUT166LP
  • Availability: In Stock
  • 25.00€

Related Products